Compared

ZeroCount vs Countfire — an honest comparison.

A clean side-by-side on the things buyers actually ask about — pricing, drawing formats, how the engine works. Public information only, no claims we can’t back up.

Public pricing

CountfireNot published

ZeroCount£55 per licence / month

Pricing model

CountfireTiered (third-party trackers cite ~$99–$999/month per seat)

ZeroCount£55 flat, per licence

Free trial

Countfire7 days, no card required

ZeroCountAvailable via demo, on real drawings

Drawing types handled

CountfireVector PDFs; drawings made of images are counted by hand (Countfire changelog)

ZeroCountVector PDFs, scanned PDFs, photographed plans

Counting engine

CountfirePattern matching against a symbol library

ZeroCountTrained vision model (Innovate UK funded, UK patent)

Auto count

CountfireYes: one selection counts matching symbols across a project's drawings

ZeroCountYes: one click counts every match on the sheet, grouped by type

Linear takeoff

CountfireDrawn by hand: you draw each pipe or duct route, and bends, tees and reducers are added as you go

ZeroCountAutomatic: pick the line patterns and every run is traced and sized from the drawing

Estimating

CountfireBuilt-in estimating module

ZeroCountPlugs into Ensign with 300,000+ live UK prices

Component database

CountfireYour own: you upload your price list before you can estimate (Countfire FAQ)

ZeroCount300,000+ UK components in Ensign's database, prices updated weekly, labour times attached

Pre-built assemblies

CountfireBuilt by you: you create kits before you can estimate (Countfire FAQ)

ZeroCountThousands of pre-built MEP assemblies, ready from day one

Project management

CountfireNot stated publicly

ZeroCountYes, via the Ensign group

UK-built

CountfireYes

ZeroCountYes — Innovate UK funded, UK patent granted

Countfire claims sourced from countfire.com (including its FAQ, product pages and changelog) and third-party trackers (Capterra, ITQlick, G2). Where Countfire’s published material doesn’t answer a question, the row is marked “Not stated publicly” rather than asserting what they don’t do. Checked against public sources on 12 October 2026.

Reading the table

The rows, and what they cost you in a week.

A one-line answer never tells you what Thursday afternoon looks like. Below is the longer version of the four rows that change how an estimator spends a week: the engine, the file formats, the price, and where the estimate lives. This page is about the products.

If it is the money you want, that is on Countfire pricing; if you have already decided and want to know what moving involves, that is the alternative page.

A symbol library is an asset you own and maintain.

Countfire counts by pattern matching against a symbol library — you tell it what a mark looks like and it finds every other instance of that exact mark across the set. Fast, exact, and free by the fortieth sheet. The cost sits at the front of the job: every practice draws to its own house style, so a library that is complete for one consultant is partial for the next, and the marks that go missing are the ones that matter — the emergency variant, the second socket type, the fit-out overlay device.

A trained model works from the other end. ZeroCount reads the convention rather than matching a stored shape, so there is nothing to build before the first count and nothing to rebuild when the next consultant draws it their way. The trade is real: a model returns a judgement rather than an exact match, so it will occasionally want a correction where pattern matching would have been certain. What you get is a first drawing from an unfamiliar practice costing roughly what the tenth does — the electrical and mechanical pages go through what it reads, sheet by sheet.

“Vector PDFs” is a constraint you meet as lost hours.

Countfire’s published documentation describes vector PDFs — drawings exported straight from CAD, where every line in the file is still a line the file knows about. That is the right input for pattern matching: exact geometry, exact match. On anything else Countfire is clear. A scan or a photograph is a drawing made of images, and Countfire’s changelog says: “Since images lack the information for Countfire’s automatic counting, you’ll need to use manual counting tools.”

What an input constraint costs you is easier to describe. The clean CAD export exists, but it stays near the design team. By the time a package reaches a subcontractor it has been through a print, a scan and an email, and the sheet with the red pen across the riser is a photograph somebody took in the site office. On insulation packages, furthest down the chain, that is the normal case.

A format limit rarely announces itself as an error. It arrives as an afternoon redrawing a corridor so the software has something to match, or a count that ran cleanly on eleven sheets and skipped the twelfth. Those hours are unbillable, and they come out of the checking time at the end of a bid. ZeroCount runs vector PDFs, scanned PDFs and photographed plans through the same engine at the same price, so bring the worst drawing on your desk to the demo rather than the tidy one.

What a published price changes about buying.

Countfire does not publish pricing. Third-party trackers report a tiered model in the region of $99–$999 per seat per month, which we cite as public reporting rather than as fact. Their price is theirs to publish, and not publishing it is an ordinary decision in this market — most takeoff platforms make the same one.

The practical difference is where the number enters your process. With a published price you can put a line in a budget on Tuesday, get a nod from whoever signs, and arrive at the demo asking whether the software reads your drawings. Without one, the first call is partly a qualification call and the number lands after it, once you have already spent the time. Neither is dishonest. One is a shorter route to a decision.

ZeroCount is £55 per licence per month, published, before you speak to anybody. The fuller pricing comparison — what the trackers report, what a tiered per-seat model does as a team grows, what you would sensibly budget — is on the Countfire pricing page.

Where the count goes after you have counted it.

Both products get you from a drawing to a price; the difference is where the price lives. Countfire has a built-in estimating module, which is the simpler shape and worth saying plainly: one product, one login, one support conversation, nothing to integrate. For a team whose work stops at the tender, that is often the right answer.

ZeroCount hands off into Ensign instead, with 300,000+ live UK prices behind it. The case for that shape is what happens after the tender. A takeoff is not the end of a quantity — it is the first version of a number that gets priced, submitted, won, built, and argued about in month four. When the count, the rate and the job share one data spine, a variation is a question you answer by walking back to the drawing it came from. When they sit in separate systems joined by a spreadsheet export, it is a morning of reconciliation.

On project management the table says “not stated publicly” for Countfire, and that is deliberate: their public material does not address it, and an absence of published claim is not evidence of absence. ZeroCount links through to project management via the Ensign group, which is the same argument again — the measurement keeps its identity all the way through.

The other side

What Countfire does better than us.

A comparison written by one of the two products is worth roughly what it is willing to concede. So, the honest list.

  • Ten years in market against our first year, with the track record that implies.
  • Roughly 141 indexed pages of content, 71 blog posts and 30 case studies — a depth of published material we do not have yet.
  • Six trade-specific landing pages, including fire sprinkler, lighting, security and structured cabling, which we do not cover today.
  • A self-serve seven-day trial with no card, where ours runs through a demo call.

None of that is faint praise. Ten years of case studies is evidence we cannot manufacture. Weigh it alongside the rows above rather than instead of them, then settle the question by running one live project through both.

Groundplan or Kreo on the shortlist as well? There are equally honest comparisons with Groundplan and Kreo.

Already on Countfire?

We’ll help you move across.

Bring your past takeoffs and your project library. We won’t pretend a five-year history of estimates is a click-and-import job, but we’ll do the heavy lifting and sit with you while we run a real project on both platforms in parallel. Mention it on the demo call. The switch written up properly — what moves, what doesn’t, and what the first fortnight looks like — is on the Countfire alternative page.

Worth reading first: what we actually read on electrical, mechanical, mep, ductwork and insulation drawings.

Common questions

Quick answers.

What is the difference between ZeroCount and Countfire?
Both are UK-built takeoff platforms. The clearest difference is the counting: Countfire matches patterns against a symbol library, while ZeroCount runs a trained vision model over the drawing. That shows up before the first count, and again when the drawing is not a clean CAD export.
Does ZeroCount read scanned and photographed drawings?
Yes. Vector PDFs, scanned PDFs and photographs of drawings go through the same engine at the same price. A scan or a photo is a drawing made of images, and on those Countfire’s changelog says: “Since images lack the information for Countfire’s automatic counting, you’ll need to use manual counting tools.”
How much does Countfire cost?
Countfire does not publish pricing. Third-party trackers report tiered plans in the region of $99 to $999 per seat per month, which we cite as public reporting rather than as fact. ZeroCount is £55 per licence per month, published. There is a longer answer on our Countfire pricing page.
Do I need to build a symbol library before I can count?
Not with ZeroCount. The model reads UK drawing conventions directly, so the first job from an unfamiliar consultant costs about what the tenth does. Where it meets a mark it has not seen before, it takes a correction or two rather than a library update.
Does ZeroCount work on a Mac?
Yes. ZeroCount runs in the browser, so it works on Mac, Windows and Linux alike, with nothing to install. A mixed office runs one tool rather than one per platform.
Can I try both before deciding?
Yes, and it is the sensible thing to do. Countfire offers a seven-day trial with no card required. ZeroCount sets you up with a trial account after a demo call. Running one live project through both is the only comparison that settles anything.
Is Countfire better than ZeroCount at anything?
Yes, and the list is on this page in full: ten years in market, far deeper published content, six trade-specific pages covering areas we do not, and a self-serve trial.

Worth a 30-minute look.

ZeroCount handles drawings older tools struggle with at a transparent £55 per licence per month. If that fits the bill, book a demo and we’ll run a takeoff on a drawing of your choice.

Book a demo

See ZeroCount on your own drawings.

Tell us a bit about you and we'll be in touch within one working day to set up a 30-minute walkthrough.

What are you taking off? (select any that apply)

By submitting, you agree to be contacted about ZeroCount. We don’t sell your details or put you on a mailing list — here’s exactly what we do with them.